“There will be a jury; the commissaire president, technical directors, three main commissaires and I will be watching and analysing (the race) and before the end, the commissaire president will give the name of the winner,” he said.

The last time the award was held in 2017, See Keong was adjudged the winner for Stage 1 and Stage 8.

LTdL 2023 will cover 11 states, beginning with stage 1 from Kerteh to Kuala Terengganu over a distance of 184.4 km; stage 2 Kuala Terengganu-Kota Baaru (186.2km); stage 3 Jeli-Baling (177.1km); stage 4 Bukit Mertajam-Meru Raya (140km); stage 5 Slim River-Genting Highlands (133.3km); stage 6 Karak-Melaka (176.6km); stage 7 Muar-Seremban 2 (125.7km) and stage 8 Setia Alam-Kuala Lumpur (157km).KUALA LUMPUR: Riders in the Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) received good news today when the organisers decided to reintroduce ‘The Most Combative Rider’ award for the championships, which will be held from Sept 23-30.

National Sports Council (NSC) director-general Datuk Ahmad Shapawi Ismail said the decision to reinstate the award was to honour riders who showed strong fighting spirit, making it a major attraction in line with the tour’s status.

“We are restoring The Most Combative Rider award in the LTDL, last given in 2017 and which was won four times by Loh Sea Keong.

“The winner will get a cash prize of RM1,000 and a plaque,” said Shapawi after a ceremony to introduce LTdL sponsors at the NSC in Bukit Jalil yesterday.

At the ceremony, local natural mineral water brand Bubbles O2 was announced as one of the main sponsors, with a contribution of RM800,000 cash and 4,000 cartons (96,000 bottles) of Bubbles O2 mineral water.

Meanwhile, LTdL chief operating officer Emir Abdul Jalal said the restoration of The Most Combative Rider was a positive move.

“It was a very popular award and there is even a special documentary about it. Rather than just knowing the champions, we also want to honour those who fought hard, the unsung heroes.

– The Star